Texas Marijuana Laws

As of 2020 possession of marijuana is still illegal in Texas. The following chart lays out the punishment range for the amount of possession of marijuana:

Class B Misdemeanor 2 oz or lessup to 6 months jail
Class A Misdemeanor2-4 ozup to 1 year jail
State Jail Felony4 oz-5 lbs6 months to 2 years prison
3rd Degree Felony5 lbs-50 lbs2-10 years prison
2nd Degree Felony50 lbs-2000lbs2-20 years prison
1st Degree Felony2000 lbs or more5-99 years prison

Author: Eric Torberson

Eric Torberson is a licensed attorney in Texas as well as licensed in the federal courts of the southern and western districts of Texas.